PDA

View Full Version : Joe Calzaghe retires

jakncoke
02-05-2009, 02:05 PM
For months, light heavyweight champion Joe Calzaghe has been saying he would probably retire.

On Thursday, he did.

Perhaps the greatest fighter in Welsh history, Calzaghe, a two-division world champion and one of the best fighters pound-for-pound in the world, announced his retirement from boxing, saying he had nothing left to accomplish.

[+] Enlarge
AP Photo/Frank Franklin II
Joe Calzaghe outpointed Roy Jones Jr. on Nov. 8 in his last fight.
"It was a difficult decision but I have achieved everything I wanted to achieve in boxing. I've been world champion for 11 years. I've got no other goals to go for. That's why I am calling it a day," Calzaghe, 36, told BBC. "I had a long think with my family. My children wanted me to give up, plus my mum. That's why I called it a day and will go on to do something else. My decision is to retire. I've been boxing for 25 years and, like I said, I've achieved everything I want to achieve."

Calzaghe is walking away as one of the rare fighters in history to retire undefeated. At 46-0 with 32 knockouts, Calzaghe dominated the 168-pound super middleweight division. He won a vacant belt by outpointing former champion Chris Eubank on Oct. 11, 1997, and made 21 title defenses during an 11-year reign until moving up to light heavyweight, where he outpointed Bernard Hopkins to win the title in April in his first fight in the United States.

Calzaghe, trained for his entire career by his father, Enzo Calzaghe, made one defense of the 175-pound crown, easily outpointing the faded Roy Jones Jr. on Nov. 8 at New York's Madison Square Garden.

Throughout the promotion of the fight with Jones, Calzaghe talked about retiring after the fight. Now that he's done it, Calzaghe said he thought his retirement would be permanent.