PDA

View Full Version : Setting up web server

LiNuX
03-10-2008, 06:29 PM
I am not a noob on servers nor am I new to hosting and managing web servers. I am just a noob on setting one up.

Some of you may already know that I am trying to move this forum into my own server at home which will hopefully give me full control to what happens and when the time comes, I can restart with a push of a button rather than having to speak to a middleman to speak to the other guy to restart the server.

I know I need to install Apache, MySQL server, and PHP. I have an idea on how to fix them but if anyone can get me a good guide to how I can tell apache that mysql server is running at a certain location and how I can edit databases, I'll appreciate the help.

Note: I have already set them up, I don't need a guide that tells me how to set each up, I need to know how to get them to work with each other. All three are up and running on my current PC as a test.

Also help on Linux servers will be most appreciated since that's what I use. And if you need to know which version of Linux, I use Fedora 8.

Regards,
LiNuX

Dflat Major
03-10-2008, 08:37 PM
You help me all teh time, but I can't help ya here.

For my WoW server, all I did was google for tutorials.
But for editing databases, I use SQLyog
Hope it helped!

LiNuX
03-10-2008, 08:41 PM
You help me all teh time, but I can't help ya here.

For my WoW server, all I did was google for tutorials.
But for editing databases, I use SQLyog
Hope it helped!

i need mySQL databases for website based databases - they aren't the same for everything - i use them for the GF servers (game servers) and it is completely different

i tried some tutorials, all they did was confuse the hell out of me OR just tell me what I already know

ksangeelee
08-26-2008, 05:04 PM