Angry New to PC Gaming: Laggy games

Hi all-

I'm brand new to PC gaming and I just purchased an HP Envy 15 TS. I'm already seeing laggy game performance with some games I bought from Steam. I was hoping you guys could help me out as I'm really excited to finally get back into gaming.

Specs:
    Intel i7-4700 (4.7 GHz)
    12 GB Ram
    1 TB HD - No ssd
    Intel HD 4600

I just bought Skyrim and FarCry 3 - most of my issue have come from the latter game. Menu is laggy and cut scenes are extremely laggy. I changed video quality to medium and the cut scenes became bearable but the graphics started acting weird (little boxes of shadow popping up, shading issues, trees disappearing and reappearing..) Gameplay is OK but gets slow every now and then..

My question is - is my PC just not up to standards for gaming? I chose this computer over the Lenovo Idea Pad but I'm starting to regret my choice.. If I should look for another Laptop - what specs are important when comparing to the ones I have? Is RAM causing my issues or my graphics card?

Thanks a million guy.. Happy Thanksgiving!!

-Mike

As far as laptop's go they're not ideal for gaming. The graphics card available for them are not up to par with current games. I know my friend bought a 1,400 dollar laptop and he was lagging on Battle Field 4.

For your computer I'd say it's definitely the Graphics card, you have an integrated card which basically means it's just built into your motherboard. The bad thing about Laptop's is that you really can't upgrade unless it's memory. But yeah, definitely your graphics card causing you to lag.

If you want to start PC gaming, I highly recommend getting a PC, they're a lot cheaper when it comes to performance. Also, they're upgradeable once a part becomes out dated.

Not sure how tech savy you are, but here is a list of graphics cards in order, top being the best preformance.

Graphics Card Performance Hierarchy Chart - Best Graphics Cards For The Money: November 2013